Thread: Total Noob question

Post Thanks / Like

Total Noob question

Hello all and thanks for taking the time to read my post.

I got (am getting) a Miller Multimatic 220 and want to mig weld 3/8 plate with it (top end of the range). Do I need to buy a new mig gun already? If so which one? How do I know what guns fit the MM220?

This is not for structural, just for heavy ornaments (yard art, which is how I spouse approval).

It doesn't look like this little box has the muscle to do Dual-Shield or Self-Shielded Flux Cored
    https://www.millerwelds.com/resource...ing-calculator

But it does look like I might be able to get away with .035" wire at 420-520 ipm abd CO2.

I assume I am wrong.. to many many things. Please enlighten me.

Thanks,

AJH

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Total Noob question

I'm not familiar with the new miller find but I'm sure it will be fine. If you observe the machines duty cycle should be no issue. If you were running gas shielded flux core it may be an issue. It takes a lot of heat to wreck a mig gun and you would likely get uncomfortable before that. Co2 also has more of a cooling effect than argon blends when using an air cooled mig gun.

Post Thanks / Like

Unless your 3/8" yard art really requires deep penetrating 100 percent welds... I think you will be just fine with CO2 and .035 wire. Play with it a bit to where you have good fusion and a flat bead and your in. Try about 19.5 volts and 200 IPM for a start and it should stick things together just fine. Dual shield would be a waste of money.

Post Thanks / Like

So just to be clear, the MDX™-100 MIG gun is rated at 100 amps, but I can set it higher than that and it is not going to burn up, it's just going to heat up and I won't want to hold it.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by thenewguy299 View Post