Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Hello All,
    I am a fairly new TIG welder and enjoy using the pulse setting on my Lincoln TIG 200 machine. I usually setup the machine to use to 1 pps. I like that I can achieve that "stacking dimes" look like the professionals get. I noticed that because of the pulse I need more amperage (obvious when you think about it). I usually crank it up 15 more amps and use the footpedal to put in the correct amount of heat... which I have no idea what that is because I can't look at the machine while I'm welding. Also, in a perfect world I like the machine set at the max amount of amperage I need because if I don't have the pedal at 100% it tend to let off while I'm welding a bead and the puddle starts growing cold. So yes I realize I need more practice with the foot pedal but I was curious if there was a chart or a rule of thumb that I could use for setting up my machines amperage for welding with pulse?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    9,840
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Nope. No rule of thumb for this machine because it only puts out 20pps which quite frankly is annoying. I leave it off all the time. If you use it for stack of dimes that is nice, but yes you loose overall amperage.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    MillerDynasty700DX,Dynasty350DX4ea,Dynasty200DX,Li ncolnSW200-2ea.,MillerMatic350P,MillerMatic200w/spoolgun,MKCobraMig260,Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm1250,HFProTig2ea,MigMax1ea.

  3. Likes sargent11235 liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    443
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Yea, you're not think of it right....

    It's much more than just the Pulse Rate.

    I'm not sure what Lincoln calls everything, but there's the Background of the pulse (how far Down, as a percentage of the Main Amp setting, the low side Amps drops to during the pulse). Then there's the Time ON how Long the pulse stays "hot" (at that Main Amp setting).

    Main Amps have to be adjusted for the pulse settings. If you would need 50A normally and had a 50% background it should be set to 75A and the pulse would go from 35-75A giving you an 50A "effect". The lower the background the longer the puddle has to cool so, if the BG was at 60% everything stays hotter than if it were 30% (it put less heat into the metal during the "deeper" cycle). THEN the Time On also makes it MUCH Hotter/Colder too. The longer you're ON, the Hotter the weld so, a 50% Time On would be a Hotter "effect" than 30% but Colder than 60% (ie. with Main Amps @75 and change from 50% to only 30% background and you'd need to raise the Main to 100A, set 65% background and it might need only to be 60A). Mixed together (BG & ON) changes the Main Amps in Many ways with Many variables. I think you could find MANY combinations that would weld with the same "feel" at different settings.

    The two Amperage controls (Background & Time On) RADICALLY change the Main Amps setting. Too little Background or too much Time On and the puddle stays HOT. You're really only "welding" during the Time On so the rest is recovering from the pulse and giving time to solidify. I'm not sure HOW but this is Very evident even at 30pps, you wouldn't think so but it is a big change.

    There's a lot to it!

  5. Likes LtBadd liked this post
  6. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,665
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Quote Originally Posted by BaTu View Post
    Yea, you're not think of it right....

    It's much more than just the Pulse Rate.

    There's a lot to it!
    Actually on his machine, that's the ONLY thing to it, and there is ONLY pulse rate. (look at the manual)
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

    HTP Invertig 400
    HTP Invertig 221
    HTP ProPulse 300
    HTP ProPulse 200 x2
    HTP ProPulse 220MTS
    HTP Inverarc 200TLP
    HTP Microcut 875SC

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    443
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Actually on his machine, that's the ONLY thing to it, and there is ONLY pulse rate. (look at the manual)
    And I guess why I have an Everlast ~hehe

    I had no idea anyone would make such a limited machine...

  8. Likes Munkul liked this post
  9. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    475
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    My miller 161 maxstar has a pps change only function. I think the pulse settings are set at 40% peak time and 25% background current.

    I really like it compared to the 151 which only had 4 settings 1,2,60,120?.

    I have been using pulse for years on stainless sheet metal. Works great after spending years fine tuning the machine and learning what really does what.

    I run 1 to 3.5 pps then I go to say 30+ as anything 7-25 ish will just give you a headache.

    Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

  10. Likes sargent11235 liked this post
  11. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    313
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    I tested a SW200 for a buddy a few years ago. I was worried about the limited pulse settings. I recall you can change the frequency of the pulse and the background current and time are fixed at 50%. I ran those settings against my typical pulse settings on my Dynasty. I'm by no means an expert but I found that only having control over pulse frequency was really not that bad.

    So it would make sense on this machine you need increase power about 33% with pulse on to match the power of pulse off where total power for one full pulse cycle at full amps = (1/2 amp setting) + (1/2 amp setting x 50%) = 75% of power without pulse

  12. Likes sargent11235 liked this post
  13. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2021
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Quote Originally Posted by sand_man_red View Post
    I tested a SW200 for a buddy a few years ago. I was worried about the limited pulse settings. I recall you can change the frequency of the pulse and the background current and time are fixed at 50%. I ran those settings against my typical pulse settings on my Dynasty. I'm by no means an expert but I found that only having control over pulse frequency was really not that bad.

    So it would make sense on this machine you need increase power about 33% with pulse on to match the power of pulse off where total power for one full pulse cycle at full amps = (1/2 amp setting) + (1/2 amp setting x 50%) = 75% of power without pulse
    That's a good idea! I like the machine a lot and I am able to make very nice looking welds with the pulse function. I'm just guessing the amperage and feathering the pedal and would like to narrow it down. Been keeping a note sheet about what setting work best for what but that sounds like a good place to start!

  14. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    9,840
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: TIG Welding Pulse amperage settings

    Quote Originally Posted by sargent11235 View Post
    That's a good idea! I like the machine a lot and I am able to make very nice looking welds with the pulse function. I'm just guessing the amperage and feathering the pedal and would like to narrow it down. Been keeping a note sheet about what setting work best for what but that sounds like a good place to start!
    The only thing about the SW200 whch rubs me the wrong way is the maximum 20pps pulse. So I never use it. In fact it gives a headache.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    MillerDynasty700DX,Dynasty350DX4ea,Dynasty200DX,Li ncolnSW200-2ea.,MillerMatic350P,MillerMatic200w/spoolgun,MKCobraMig260,Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm1250,HFProTig2ea,MigMax1ea.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,624,570,290.18491 seconds with 12 queries