+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bad tungsten causing sparks and porosity on mild steel?

Post Thanks / Like

Bad tungsten causing sparks and porosity on mild steel?

I'm new at tig and I've mostly been practicing on aluminum. I got some mild steel stock and decided to run a bunch of beads and some lap joints (DC of course), but I started having some weird issues.

I was getting lots of sparks and priority even when not using filler and just moving the puddle around. I spent the last two days trying to figure out what's going on and looking for leaks in my argon line. I even took apart my machine and checked the solenoid and the torch port. All good.

I've been using 2% ceriated since that's what came with my machine. But today my shipment of CK LaYZr rods came in so I figured I'd try it out. The results below show the difference.

Settings are exactly the same:
    Mild steel 1/8" (two pieces welded together though so the thickness is actually 1/4")
    90 Amps
    No filler
    Both tungsten are 3/32" so the exact same collet for both

I ran the top bead with the 2% ceriated. Switched to the CK, then ran the other bead. Quite the difference. The top one is all grainy and uneven: sunken in some areas, raised in other areas. The bottom one is perfectly flat and smooth (since no filler used, this is what I expected).

The 2% ceriated was freshly ground but the shank probably wasn't clean and had some oxides on it from a previous mistake. Could that cause it? Still weird.

Name:  20210524_002752.jpg
Views: 754
Size:  104.3 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Bad tungsten causing sparks and porosity on mild steel?

Check your collet and collet body conditions. The parts that come with the factory torch are atrocious. I order made in usa from TecTorch for my aircooled torches and they flow argon much better.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"