Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    This is a Victor VU-150 track burner. Here's a shot of it cutting 1/4" plate in my shop:



    It ran just as smooth as butter. Only it stopped working recently and I don't think I have the chops to fix it. It has a new rheostat in it. The Bodine DC gearmotor that's in it goes for over $100 on ebay.

    The schematic is available online. It's pretty simple. But the wiring inside is a rats nest and I don't want to deal with debugging or rebuilding. But it'd be really worth it.

    If you might have an interest, particularly if you live within driving distance of Seattle, PM me and we'll talk.

    metalmagpie

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    It sounds like need brushes in motor.
    I own one for about 30 years and used for both cutting and welding.

    Shipping is the down side they simply for me to repair.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmagpie View Post
    This is a Victor VU-150 track burner. Here's a shot of it cutting 1/4" plate in my shop:



    It ran just as smooth as butter. Only it stopped working recently and I don't think I have the chops to fix it. It has a new rheostat in it. The Bodine DC gearmotor that's in it goes for over $100 on ebay.

    The schematic is available online. It's pretty simple. But the wiring inside is a rats nest and I don't want to deal with debugging or rebuilding. But it'd be really worth it.

    If you might have an interest, particularly if you live within driving distance of Seattle, PM me and we'll talk.

    metalmagpie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    Wouldn't be surprised if Victor sourced it from someone else. Could be a DC drive and just needs brushes. Consider a new track burner is a few $$$ thousand.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    The DC motor can be place with China made.

    I agree
    I would rebuild the brushes and turn the commutator and under cut mica.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    Wouldn't be surprised if Victor sourced it from someone else. Could be a DC drive and just needs brushes. Consider a new track burner is a few $$$ thousand.
    Last edited by smithdoor; 05-28-2021 at 12:21 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Near Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    907
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    The DC motor can be place with China made.

    I agree
    I would rebuild the brushes and turn the commutator and under cut mica.

    Dave
    It is fun seeing a post about turning a commutator,, and undercutting the mica,,
    we used to do that on car starters, and generators right at the gas station I worked at in the late 1950's,,

    Now, the place you get gas for your car has a ICEE Machine for cold drinks instead of a commutator lathe,,


  6. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    I still do
    I started on truck and tractor starters.

    I know my wife has never fill her car with gas ⛽ and we find one

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by SweetMK View Post
    It is fun seeing a post about turning a commutator,, and undercutting the mica,,
    we used to do that on car starters, and generators right at the gas station I worked at in the late 1950's,,

    Now, the place you get gas for your car has a ICEE Machine for cold drinks instead of a commutator lathe,,


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    Highly doubt it's the motor.

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    The motor controller is simple. They made two types one was variable ball and the other is variable transformer this type has a brush but if bad then it is replaced with electronic type.
    The only other thing is switches.

    What is your zip code?
    I will check on shipping that in most case the big cost. By time package it up should weigh around 50 pounds .
    A 1/2" plywood works and shippers want a cardboard box on out side. By or find a cardboard box first the build the plywood box to fit the cardboard box.

    Dave.

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmagpie View Post
    Highly doubt it's the motor.
    Last edited by smithdoor; 05-28-2021 at 07:35 PM.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    Be for you ship check the fuse
    , switches they like automotive switch and the cord.
    This simple repair you can do and will save money.
    If it is cord it SOOJ 14 gauge.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmagpie View Post
    Highly doubt it's the motor.
    Last edited by smithdoor; 05-28-2021 at 07:41 PM.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    If fuse is blown then is capacitor.
    The capacitor will loss oil then the fuse blows
    Then both are simple to replace.
    You find the capacitor on Amazon
    (Oil filed 4 uF 440 volt capacitor)

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmagpie View Post
    Highly doubt it's the motor.

  12. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    No capacitor in circuit other than the ones integrated into the two bridge rectifiers.
    The fuse is fine. The rheostat is new and connected correctly.

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    If fuse is blown then is capacitor.
    The capacitor will loss oil then the fuse blows
    Then both are simple to replace.
    You find the capacitor on Amazon
    (Oil filed 4 uF 440 volt capacitor)

    Dave

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    The motor controller is simple. They made two types one was variable ball and the other is variable transformer this type has a brush but if bad then it is replaced with electronic type.
    The only other thing is switches.

    What is your zip code?
    I will check on shipping that in most case the big cost. By time package it up should weigh around 50 pounds .
    A 1/2" plywood works and shippers want a cardboard box on out side. By or find a cardboard box first the build the plywood box to fit the cardboard box.

    Dave.
    My zip is 98033.
    Never heard of a variable ball. Mine's an autotransformer. Also, there are bridge rectifiers, switches, and a neon lamp in the circuit, plus wiring including a fuse. A solenoid valve pack was an option which mine didn't come with. However, I was going to add it and have already purchased the components.

    I'm going to want something besides shipping. Also, there are 4 lengths of track which have value but which would be hard to ship given that they are six feet long and about 8" wide.

    metalmagpie

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    6,485
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    That sounds like a older one can email the manual?

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmagpie View Post
    My zip is 98033.
    Never heard of a variable ball. Mine's an autotransformer. Also, there are bridge rectifiers, switches, and a neon lamp in the circuit, plus wiring including a fuse. A solenoid valve pack was an option which mine didn't come with. However, I was going to add it and have already purchased the components.

    I'm going to want something besides shipping. Also, there are 4 lengths of track which have value but which would be hard to ship given that they are six feet long and about 8" wide.

    metalmagpie

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    408
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: My old Victor track burner stopped working, anyone want to rebuild it?

    The four six-foot lengths of track are still available.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,657,006,412.41145 seconds with 14 queries