Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Welding Question

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie Welding Question

Hi All, complete newbie to welding. I've done some light oxy welding before, but I've recently purchased a flux core set up. For my first outing I chose to repair a post hole digger. Just a matter of attaching metal poles to the digger jaws since the wood ones didnt last long.

First issue I had is I couldn't see what I was doing. I got an auto darkening hood that does a great job of darkening but so much so that I lost sight of my work. I played around with the adjustments and still really couldn't see enough to tell what I was doing.

The weld itself came out rather "bubbly", is the best way to describe it. I looked on my troubleshooting placard and my situation didnt match any of the examples. I'm thinking the voltage wasn't high enough but wanted some feed back. Will post a pic.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie Welding Question

Apparently can't post pics?

Post Thanks / Like

Hi Mickey.

You should be able to post pictures by going to the Go advanced option and there you can preview your post.

Always clean/grind to shiny metal. Start with your helmet on 10. Welding has a learning curve, so don’t get discouraged if your first welds aren’t good. It takes lots of practice. Set your welder for the gauge of steel you are welding.

Wire stick out is important. The best advice I know for new welders is “watch the puddle, not the arc”. Watch the melted metal puddle then move your wire so the puddle washes on both pieces until they both melt into the puddle. Concentrate the arc on the heavier side then quickly move the puddle to the lighter side if they are different. Maybe in a day, maybe in a week it will become clear what you are doing and your welding will soon become better.

Posting pictures will help us give better recommendations to improve your welding.

Welcome to the forum.
    Burt
    Hobart Handler 120

10FtDrillBit.com

Post Thanks / Like