+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jeep frame repair

Post Thanks / Like

Jeep frame repair

Afternoon everyone,
    My inlaws bought a 2000 Jeep Wrangler recently that needs some frame patches welded on. I recently bought a Titanium stick225. I've searched this question and it seems everyone says to mig weld it...I don't have that option so my question is should I run a 6010 pass first and then cover with a 7018 or just one or the other? Any other tips. I know its best to stitch weld the repair pieces in. I weld at work with 480 machines quite often so I'm confident I can do this repair just wanting some advice from the actual pros.

Thanks
    Adam

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Jeep frame repair

I am not an actual pro, but if you prep the metal correctly, there isn't any reason or benefit to using 6010 for the first pass. Just run 7018, make sure you get all the rust and crud off first. If you are welding on bright shiny metal, 7018 will do everything you need. Those frames are likely no more than 1/8th inch thick material, so I would use a 3/32 rod to avoid burning through.

Post Thanks / Like

I'm used to using a 6010 at work mostly because hard to clean the area good we have to repair. I plan on cutting out as much of the bad as I can, cleaning and prepping the area, maybe paint some weldable primer before covering with the repair piece and welding it out. Then smooth everything out and paint it.

Post Thanks / Like

My only concern with 6010 is the wall thickness on the frame. Its easy to blow through unless you are really skilled with 6010 and you should maybe drop down to a 3/32 rod. Plus I don't know if they use a special alloy for frames that would sort of require you to use 7018.

Post Thanks / Like