+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Leave gas turned on?

Post Thanks / Like

Leave gas turned on?

Most of my welding has been flux core due to having a 110v Lincoln and needing penetration. Now that I have a 210v welder, I'm using 100% CO2 since I already had that tank. I ran some horrifying beads yesterday and finally figured out that I hadn't turned the gas on. Duh!

Does anyone leave their gas turned on all the time even when the welder is off and welding is over for the day? All my fittings are tight and not leaking, I checked. I wanted to check here before I did that. It's not like a CO2 leak will blow anything up.

Otherwise I'm going to have to figure out a way to remember to turn gas on when I start. Being a hobbyist I don't weld every day so it's hard to set up an automatic mental procedure.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Leave gas turned on?

Learn to turn it off/on. It's not that difficult.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!

Post Thanks / Like

"All my fittings are tight and not leaking."

At the exact second you checked them they were but they won't stay that way!
    You will get the hang of turning it on and off pretty quickly.

Post Thanks / Like

Posting as a hobbyist, kind of a no brainier don't ya think ? Forgetting to turn it on, the welder will point that out,

5. Likes Munkul liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Maybe tape a note to the welder next to the switch: TURN GAS ON / OFF
    ?

Post Thanks / Like

After a while you'll develop the habit of checking the bottle before and after welding. Things aren't leaking now, but that can change with just a bottle swap and then you'll wind up with an empty tank because of a bad habit. It may not cost much, or cause a problem, but wanting to weld and finding an empty bottle would be pretty annoying!
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com

Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3