+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Hello from British Columbia.

Post Thanks / Like

Hello from British Columbia.

Hi.

First time posting. I have some welding experience with stick and MIG welding. I have an old Hobart TR300 welder and a Marquette MIG welder. Both I use for repairing machinery and making things around the farm. The welds may not be pretty but they work for me. The neighbouring farmer makes welding visits for repairs.

As of yesterday I acquired a very old (I suspect it maybe was manufactured in the 60s) Linde DAL300 HFGW TIG welder. This unit was made in Canada under licence from Harnischfeger corporation. So it is I believe similar to a P&H TIG welder. What I am interested in is if anyone has any information on this unit as I have no idea as yet of how to set it up or how to weld with it (the unit had no documentation). Will remove the cover soon to see if there is a circuit diagram on the inside cover.

I have aluminium irrigation pipe which I have to repair from time to time. This will be useful for that and as another means to repair items that the stick or MIG are not ideal. I also look forward to learning how to TIG weld.

Thanks in advance.

Terry

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Hello from British Columbia.

Welcome to the forum,,
    My brother, and I once visited a man who owned a gold mine in Prince George BC,, a LOT of years ago,,

We were shocked to find how far it was between gas stations ,,,

BUT, we did find some gold,, and had a great time,,

Start welding, then start a thread with a specific question,, answers will pop up,,,

Post Thanks / Like

Welcome to the forum from another BC farmer (also named Terry). LOL

Have fun with your irrigation pipe repairs and mods...

IMO forget about repairing cracks or corrosion on used aluminum pipe. I use band type SS truck muffler clamps and inner tube

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    :

Post Thanks / Like