+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Should my company go union?

Post Thanks / Like

Should my company go union?

Backstory, I am an independent welding contractor. Basically me and my welding truck operating as a subcontractor. I'm looking into signing up my company and myself in the local pipefitters union. The benefits that I'm looking for is the retirement plan and the health insurance. Plus help finding work when I'm slow. According to them I can keep working for the non-union contractors I currently do work for, but my business would be union and I'll pay into the union fund. Does this sound like a good idea? I know a owner-operator truck driver that did this with the teamsters union and now he is retired and it worked out good for him.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Should my company go union?

Quote Originally Posted by PWF View Post
    Backstory, I am an independent welding contractor. Basically me and my welding truck operating as a subcontractor. I'm looking into signing up my company and myself in the local pipefitters union. The benefits that I'm looking for is the retirement plan and the health insurance. Plus help finding work when I'm slow. According to them I can keep working for the non-union contractors I currently do work for, but my business would be union and I'll pay into the union fund. Does this sound like a good idea? I know a owner-operator truck driver that did this with the teamsters union and now he is retired and it worked out good for him.
    Your risk is that the union president is related to a guy that was named "Hoffa",,
    if that happens, all of your retirement money will be placed on either "RED" or "BLACK",,
    then the roulette wheel is given a spin,,.

Normally, what happens, is that the union leadership lives a good life,,
    and, as far as your retirement?? Oh, well,, come back in 40 years, and let us know how it went,,,

Post Thanks / Like

Is the PIPEFITTERS Union in the UA ? United Association . http://www.ua.org/pipefitting