Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Top dross problems HELP!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Top dross problems HELP!

    Hello to all seniors in this forum, I recently bought a plasma cutting machine with a Hypertherm powermax 105A from china.

    While trying to cut a 20mm mild steel plate, I found a whole lot of top dross, which resulted in the torch head smashing into the said dross and broke the positioning sleeve. Any suggestions as to what may have caused this top dross to form? I have changed my consumables to new ones, the plate has a little layer of rust on it, cutting speed is determined by machine controller.

    Quite at a loss here so hopefully someone can give me advice on this. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Fairfield,CT
    Posts
    1,434
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    Got to Hypertherm web site and download the manual. It has the cut heights, pierce heights as well as the feeds for a given material and thickness. Also visit Plasma spider dot com.
    www.tjsperformance.com
    Dynasty 300 DX
    HTP 240
    HTP Microcut 380
    Hyperthem 85
    JD2 Hyd Bender and HF Hyd Ring Roller all in one =(Frankenbender)
    Bpt. Mill/DRO
    4' x 8' CNC Plasma Table
    Instagram: tjsperformance
    YT: TJS Welding and Fabrication

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Midwest
    Posts
    469
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    Must be too low of amps or too slow on travel speed or excessive cut height. Hypertherm from China???
    Thermal Arc 320SP ( Lorch )
    Cobra Pythons
    Thermal Arc 300 AC/DC ( Sanrex )
    ESAB 301i AC/DC ( Lorch )
    Thermal Arc 161STL ( WTL )
    Thermal Arc 190S ( Sanrex )
    Cut Master 82, 42. Cut45 ( WTL )
    Victor Gas Apps.
    Boxes and boxes of welding crap.

  4. Likes BD1 liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,745
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    ''Hypertherm from China'' ?? It's not a REAL HYPERTHERM machine. Hypertherm is Made in USA and is a 100% employee owned company.

    No idea what you bought but maybe contact costumer service.

    Hopefully JIM COLT of HYPERTHERM will respond or try messaging him. Please share what is said.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2021
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    Hi guys, thanks for all the bits and pieces of information. Really helped a ton.

    Did a top to toe inspection of everything over the last couple of days, found that the filter on the PMX had a little bit of oil and dirt. Am thinking that might've been the cause for the improper functioning of the machine.

    Would appreciate if anyone has other considerations that I might need to look out for.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Posts
    5
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    when you get a chance you should use this link for our website. You can download the manual for the PMX105 as TJS suggested. If you need more information please contact our technical support team as well.
    http://ttps://www.hypertherm.com/en-...x/powermax105/

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,879
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Top dross problems HELP!

    My vote is with rondo. Something in your set up is wrong.
    First start with your air pressure and make sure it does not fall off and go low while cutting. Place plasma in gas test and run it for a while and watch the pressure gauge.
    See tech manual how to do this using the screen functions. There is a test screen that show fault codes, line voltage, buss voltage, air pressure and a few more things.
    If air pressure is stable, then compare Hypertherm's cut chart to your CNC machine's settings for cut height and speed. Check a see if you can control the cut amps at the CNC or just at the plasma. You might be attempting to set a cut amp on the CNC but it is not changing the plasma. I have seen both type of systems used. Haven't had many Hypertherm 105s in the shop yet and most of the were hand units.
    One CNC I work on, at first glance it appears to set the cut amps but it is really just telling you what amps you need to set the plasma manually. The cut you are looking for should have a clean top with a little dross on the bottom that comes off easy.
    Lots of dross on the bottom is slow travel speed. Dross on top could be to long of pierce time that is keep the torch to high up. or the auto height control arc voltage set wrong. either way torch is trying to cut to high off plate. IF you can't find the cut speed and all the other settings contact your table manufacture for help. I hope they have a operator's manual you can read.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,632,007,766.21777 seconds with 12 queries