Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Well, I plugged the Miller Dialarc 250 into the Bobcat 225nt. (with 8000 watt generator)

    Was checking to see how it ran that way so I could let @whtbaron check out the machine.

    (met him part way so he wouldn't have to drive so far)

    Fired up an 1/8" 7018 at 130 amps and welded about 1 inch....aaand....popped the Bobcat's breaker.

    It welded 3/32" 7018 at 100 amps very well though.


    8000w/230v = 34.7 amps. I guess that wasn't enough LOL


    Interestingly, the Bobcat didn't even sound super bogged down, barely heard any change while drawing all that it puts out.

    It generates power better than my old cheapy Generac 5000/6250. That one wildly fluctuates RPM with sudden load.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  2. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  3. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,526
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    My synchrowave would weld 1/8 7018 on a 50 amp breaker, no problem. But to get to full tilt (310 amps) it needed at least a 90 amp breaker. Not accounting for the quality of the AC output from the Bobcat, I am thinking you need at LEAST 10,000 watts to run at 130 amps. If the Bobcat or other genny is putting out anything other than pure sine wave power (e.g., modified sine wave) then you will need significantly more. Lincoln advises a minimum of a 15000 watt generator to run an AC/DC-225

    https://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-u...ze-detail.aspx
    Miller Multimatic 255

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    But Louie, surely 34.7 amps is enough - lol

    I've run them on 50 and 60 amp breakers too - works very well.

    Bobcat was "a little" low on power

    My Syncrowave 350 does not like 50 amp breakers though. High amp tig pops that pretty quick.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,699
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    doesnt surprise me. my 8000 generator will run an idealc 250 w/ capacitors w/ 1/8 7018, but might not w/o the capacitors, thats may be the case w/ the dialarc. good u made this risky border crossing/exchange, while u still can. and im sure both u properly adhered to cdc guidlines, and followed all local, state, federal, international covid19 protocols/mandates while doing so, in this critical time of the delta surge, because big brother was watching
    Last edited by 123weld; 08-04-2021 at 05:50 PM.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by 123weld View Post
    doesnt surprise me. my 8000 generator will run an idealc 250 w/ capacitors w/ 1/8 7018, but might not w/o the capacitors, thats may be the case w/ the dialarc. good u made this risky border crossing/exchange, while u still can. and im sure both u properly adhered to cdc guidlines, and followed all local, state, federal, and international covid19 protocols/mandates while doing so, in this critical time of the delta surge, because big brother was watching
    I was wondering about the machines with PFC. Makes sense they would run on less - sure helped my old Airco 300

    CDC? Is that still a thing? Figured that would be done like the NFL or Crystal Pepsi...
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  7. Likes labparamour liked this post
  8. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,699
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by MinnesotaDave View Post
    I was wondering about the machines with PFC. Makes sense they would run on less - sure helped my old Airco 300

    CDC? Is that still a thing? Figured that would be done like the NFL or Crystal Pepsi...
    i hear a bit of a constant drag/load on generator engine (even when not welding), as i think them capacitors are pulling juice all the time. then when strike arc at 120 amp output, the gen eng dont bog as much as u'd think, as them capacitors are putting out. thats my observation anyway. i wouldnt go much above 120 amp output though. i dont make practice of it, i did it for testing to buy, just like u guys did.

    i wish they'd all just dissolve
    Last edited by 123weld; 08-04-2021 at 06:03 PM.

  9. Likes MinnesotaDave liked this post
  10. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    5,253
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by 123weld View Post
    doesnt surprise me. my 8000 generator will run an idealc 250 w/ capacitors w/ 1/8 7018, but might not w/o the capacitors, thats may be the case w/ the dialarc. good u made this risky border crossing/exchange, while u still can. and im sure both u properly adhered to cdc guidlines, and followed all local, state, federal, international covid19 protocols/mandates while doing so, in this critical time of the delta surge, because big brother was watching
    Well... I thought I was being careful... had the Double Vax card and passport, but I should have had my lawyer reread the rules on the paperwork. Got slapped with the 14day self isolate but I'll be done that next Monday.
    The harder you fall, the higher you bounce...

    250 amp Miller DialArc AC/DC Stick
    F-225 amp Forney AC Stick
    230 amp Sears AC Stick
    Lincoln 180C MIG
    Victor Medalist 350 O/A
    Cut 50 Plasma
    Les

  11. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3,699
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    wow, yea , they mean biz

  12. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  13. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    1,101
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    As an experiment I ran my Dialarc 250 off of my Hobart Champion Elite (11Kw) and it didn't struggle at all with 1/8 7018.
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  14. Likes John Baptist liked this post
  15. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by G-ManBart View Post
    As an experiment I ran my Dialarc 250 off of my Hobart Champion Elite (11Kw) and it didn't struggle at all with 1/8 7018.
    The extra watts sure makes a difference. Yours should be rated 9.5Kw continuous, 11Kw peak.

    I've not seen a listing to tell if my Bobcat's 8Kw is peak or continuous. But I suspect it's the continuous rating based on the labeling on the machine.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  16. #11
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    5,253
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Name:  003.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  49.0 KB
    Name:  001.jpg
Views: 147
Size:  39.3 KB

    Put a bigger tractor on it....
    The harder you fall, the higher you bounce...

    250 amp Miller DialArc AC/DC Stick
    F-225 amp Forney AC Stick
    230 amp Sears AC Stick
    Lincoln 180C MIG
    Victor Medalist 350 O/A
    Cut 50 Plasma
    Les

  17. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    8,324
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by MinnesotaDave View Post
    The extra watts sure makes a difference. Yours should be rated 9.5Kw continuous, 11Kw peak.

    I've not seen a listing to tell if my Bobcat's 8Kw is peak or continuous. But I suspect it's the continuous rating based on the labeling on the machine.
    Should be in yer manual. Here are two different 225NT screen grabs from the Miller site.

    Name:  225NT-1.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  58.6 KB

    Name:  225NT-2.jpg
Views: 137
Size:  56.9 KB
    Ed Conley
    http://www.screamingbroccoli.com/
    MM252
    MM211 (Sold)
    Passport Plus & Spool gun
    Lincoln SP135 Plus- (Gone to a good home)
    Klutch 120v Plasma cutter
    SO 2020 bender
    Beer in the fridge

  18. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    NW New Jersey
    Posts
    944
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Looks like power factor caps make a big difference.


    Name:  dialarc250ESG.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  70.4 KB
    Airco 250 ac/dc Heliwelder Square wave
    Miller Synchrowave 180 sd
    Miller Econo Twin HF
    Lincoln 210 MP
    Dayton 225 ac/dc
    Victor torches
    Snap-On YA-212
    Lotos Cut60D

  19. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by whtbaron View Post
    Name:  003.jpg
Views: 143
Size:  49.0 KB
    Name:  001.jpg
Views: 147
Size:  39.3 KB

    Put a bigger tractor on it....
    Well.....that should do it lol
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  20. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  21. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Broccoli1 View Post
    Should be in yer manual. Here are two different 225NT screen grabs from the Miller site.
    You're right, should have been in the manual.

    All it says is:
    "Combined output of all receptacles
    limited to 8 kVA/kW rating of the
    generator."

    On the welder it says: "Total all loads 8000 watts."

    I suspect the second one you showed would be correct, with 8500 watts as the peak.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  22. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by albrightree View Post
    Looks like power factor caps make a big difference.
    PFC is pretty cool

    My Thermal Arc 161 is power factor corrected - works really nice on generators.
    But the difference in amperage needed is not nearly as impressive with inverters.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  23. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Soda springs,Id
    Posts
    5,456
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    whtbaron your generator shouldn't have any horsepower shortage!!
    Ol' Stonebreaker
    "Experience is the name everyone gives to their mistakes"
    Hobart G-213 portable
    Miller 175 mig
    Miller thunderbolt ac/dc stick
    Victor O/A setup
    Makita chop saw

  24. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  25. #18
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Manitoba Canada
    Posts
    5,253
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    That one kicks out around 140 so it doesn't even feel the load. I've had it on the old 4020 (around 90) with the whole yard on it ( at that time we had 2 households and a barn full of pigs) and it was working pretty hard. I think it's easier on fuel if I use the bigger tractor.
    The harder you fall, the higher you bounce...

    250 amp Miller DialArc AC/DC Stick
    F-225 amp Forney AC Stick
    230 amp Sears AC Stick
    Lincoln 180C MIG
    Victor Medalist 350 O/A
    Cut 50 Plasma
    Les

  26. Likes Lis2323, MinnesotaDave liked this post
  27. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc 250 - "how much generator?" ;)

    I dont recall what the manual of the Weldan Power 6000 says about horsepower starts, its not much but mine will start a 5 hp motor without a blink.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,638,351,450.91529 seconds with 15 queries