Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Dialarc Time; Zero Experience Here!

Post Thanks / Like

Dialarc Time; Zero Experience Here!

Been reading here and it seems Dialarc and Idealarc are both highly desirable machines.

Because I have zero experience welding I figure it makes sense to get a nicer machine so learning goes as smoothly as possible.

Took a chance on an auction and need to wire up a Dialarc and get leads and all for it. I've read there's rarely anything that can go wrong with them and checked serial info and it's from 1982.

Does a typical garage have the wiring/breaker/panel to support using a Dialarc? Is it likely I'd need to do electrical work to accommodate using it?

I've also read they're nearly 400 lb machines - how does a one man operation typically move/transport one of these without assistance?

Any thoughts or direction on how to get me on the right track here and ultimately welding would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for reading and God bless you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Dialarc Time; Zero Experience Here!

Well those are great machines and you have options on moving them in the shop. There is a factory Miller undercarriage kit available or you could build one with heavy duty castors. I would suggest you download the manual from Miller. Be sure you remove the right side panel and inspect the jumper placement on the power lugs. If this machine came out of an industrial setting it could be wired for 460 volts.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Steve

Miller Dialarc 250 (1990)
    Miller Maxstar 140 STR (2003)
    Lincoln SA200 Redface Pipeliner (1966)
    Lincoln MP210 (2015)
    Victor and MECO torches

Post Thanks / Like

Here is a Dialarc I used to have. It was a 1983. The undercarriage was the Miller OEM. It was powder coated with custom top

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Steve

Lincoln MP210 (2015)
    Victor and MECO torches