+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie question trying to understand electricity

Post Thanks / Like

Newbie question trying to understand electricity

I'm new to welding based on electricity.
    Did oxy/acetalyene 40 years ago for a class in high school.
    Now taking a class on welding for MIG, TIG, etc...

In the first hands-on class last week, one guy seemed to have a good technique for MIG welding, and teacher mentioned that also.

Hard to get a good picture of his technique with only two hands, though.
    It was something like the pic below - left hand going across to the right.
    And then his right hand rode across it from left to right with the MIG tip.

I thought he'd be electrocuted because he was touching the metal that was grounded, and also on the other end with the MIG torch.

Are these the reasons he wasn't electrocuted?
    On the left arm, he had a thick glove, so that kept it from being conductive from the grounded metal table to him?
    On the right, holding the MIG torch, just pressing the MIG torch button activates the wire feed, but it's not a piece involved in the conductivity side of things - it's insulated from that.

So I'm now wondering 'how can I be electrocuted while MIG welding?' - I'd like to avoid that.
    Better question is maybe 'how do I not get electrocuted while MIG welding?'
    Have you ever known somebody that got electrocuted while MIG welding, and how did it happen?
    Or is it something so rare that it's not something to really think of as a problem that might happen?

Name:  weld-arm.jpg
Views: 347
Size:  66.4 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Newbie question trying to understand electricity

The human body has a natural resistance up to around 50 volts. Above that voltage most folks can feel it, below it they don’t unless their hands are wet.

Most MIG welding is performed at less than 30 volts, so you are not in danger of being shocked.
    Miller Trailblazer Pro 350D
    Miller Suitcase MIG