Thread: SA 200 Murphy Temp and Pressure Gauge

Post Thanks / Like

SA 200 Murphy Temp and Pressure Gauge

Just recently purchased a couple of Murphy gauges (Temp 20T-250 and Pressure 20P7-75) with a relay and socket and a little confused about hooking it all up. Be the first to say I am not a mechanic nor do I claim to be one but I like a challenge.

I am trying to figure out how to wire up the relay to the gauges themselves and any help would be appreciated.

If you plug the relay into the socket here is how the pins would correspond to the wire color.

Pin 87A (Yellow 12 AWG)
    Pin 87 (White 12 AWG)
    Pin 86 (Green 14 AWG)
    Pin 85 (Black 12 AWG)
    Pin 30 (Red - 12 AWG)

My understanding is Pin 30 runs to the Positive side of the ignition coil and Pin 85 goes the ground on the chassis but how do the other 3 pins connect and do you put in in-line fuse between the ignition coil and pin 30 in case something happens? Also, where do you run the hose for the oil pressure gauge?

I had searched the forums on Murphy gauges and saw some installed but never saw an example of how to hook one up.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by pipewelder; 09-13-2021 at 04:49 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: SA 200 Murphy Temp and Pressure Gauge

Does this look possibly like it might be the correct setup for this configuration?

Name:  20210913_185741(0).jpg
Views: 129
Size:  51.5 KB

Post Thanks / Like

Nope, 85 and 86 are the terminals to trigger the relay coil. 30 and 87a will control your ignition coil circuit. So power to 85, and 86 goes to the gauges to trip the relay. Does the oil pressure gauge have an over ride button to start the engine until the needle rises? If not, you will need a normally closed spring loaded switch to over ride the oil pressure guage between the ignition power and terminal 85.
    I'll try to get time to scribble a diagram in a bit.

Post Thanks / Like

I hope my crappy handwriting works for you.Name:  20210913_172847.jpg
Views: 124