Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    I picked up a sync 250 a few days ago. I need to get an outlet installed in my garage for it. Do I really need a 100 amp breaker to run this thing? The garage has a 200 amp panel.
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Outside of Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    1,225
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    My 250DX will trip a 50 a breaker when welding 3/8” aluminum. No problems so far on a 70a breaker
    Miller Trailblazer Pro 350D
    Miller Suitcase MIG
    Miller Spectrum 2050
    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Lincoln 210MP

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,440
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    I have a 200 amp panel in my home and ran a mid-1990's vintage Syncrowave 250 for years. It was wired with 6 gauge conductors, and I originally had a 50 amp breaker. I upgraded the beaker to 110 amps as per the owners manual. I never had a problem with the larger breaker, probably because I never ran the machine long enough to interfere with anything else in the house. I wouldn't let the larger breaker scare you off.
    Miller Multimatic 255

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dalton, GA
    Posts
    1,966
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    I have had mine on a 50 amp breaker for about 8 years with no problem. I have only run on max a couple of times for short runs.

    I’m just a hobbyist and rarely weld over 3/16”.
    Burt
    _____________________
    Miller Syncrowave 250
    Millermatic 211
    Miller 375 Plasma Cutter
    Hobart Handler 120

    10FtDrillBit.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,440
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    The breaker really isn't the issue. In a circuit dedicated to a welder, the electrical codes allow for the breaker to be oversized relative to the wire size, based on duty cycle. The important thing for your welder is to use 6 AWG wire for the circuit, even with a 100 amp breaker. There is no need or reason to go larger on the wire.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,883
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    70 amps works pretty good unless you run heavier aluminum.
    I've popped that breaker on my syncrowave 350 with tig aluminum.
    100 amp breaker hasn't tripped yet.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  7. Likes scsmith42 liked this post
  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    6
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    Quote Originally Posted by Louie1961 View Post
    The breaker really isn't the issue. In a circuit dedicated to a welder, the electrical codes allow for the breaker to be oversized relative to the wire size, based on duty cycle. The important thing for your welder is to use 6 AWG wire for the circuit, even with a 100 amp breaker. There is no need or reason to go larger on the wire.
    I spoke with an electrician today. He told me 3 gauge wire! Is that overkill?

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,440
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    Absolutely massive overkill. Get the owners manual from the Miller website. They recommend 6AWG wire and a 110 amp breaker.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    ca
    Posts
    108
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    Never speak to that electrician again.... unless it's your spouse.
    Syncrowave 250 w/ coolrunner
    MM210 W/spoolgun
    SP 135
    Victor O/A
    Ramsond cut 50
    Titanium Stick 225.

  11. Likes Stricht8 liked this post
  12. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Detroit, Michigan
    Posts
    1,059
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    Quote Originally Posted by Stricht8 View Post
    I spoke with an electrician today. He told me 3 gauge wire! Is that overkill?
    Yes, it's total overkill!

    Most electricians are either ignorant of the NEC section covering dedicated welder circuits or they simply refuse to install one that way. What he's saying is that he would install a 110A breaker and conductors paired to the breaker as if it were intended for a continuous load. Welders (and other non-continuous loads) have different guidelines....Article 630 of the NEC covers the topic.

    I've owned something like 15 Syncrowave 250 and Syncrowave 250DX welders in the past few years and all have run perfectly on a 60A circuit without tripping the breaker...ever. I don't normally run it higher than maybe 275A, but I'm sure it would be fine. I've also run most of them on a 40A circuit and have no problems up to 250-260A output.

    6ga wire and a 60 or 70A breaker and you'll be totally fine.
    Check out my bench vise website:
    http://mivise.com


    Miller Syncrowave 250DX
    Millermatic 350P with XR AlumaPro
    Miller Regency 200 with 22A feeder and Spoolmatic 3
    Hobart Champion Elite
    Everlast PowerTig 210EXT

  13. Likes MinnesotaDave liked this post
  14. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    4,440
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Syncrowave 250 breaker requirements

    Miller Multimatic 255

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,634,510,038.29694 seconds with 15 queries