+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Plug welds

Post Thanks / Like

Plug welds

I'm new to this and have a question...

I'm joining two parts with two or three plug welds. The top part (with the plug holes) is 2" wide, 3" long 3/16" flat bar. The bottom part is a 6" long 3/8" square bar. If I drill divots into the bottom part where the plug welds will be, will that make them stronger? Or is there any other prep (besides cleaning) that will make for a stronger weld?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Plug welds

What size holes? What welding process?
    Chris
    Auction Addict

Post Thanks / Like

Your plug welds will be no stronger than the square inches of weld contacting the 3/16 around the perimeter of the hole in that plate. Drilling deeper into the 3/8 gives no additional strength to the assembly. Welds are sized/spec'd taking into account just how much of the weld contacts the parent metal. Small contact area, less strength. The weak link is the steel itself.

Post Thanks / Like

So the bigger the plug welds the better?

Holes are currently 1/4", process is flux-core.

5. Likes walker liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by upand_at_them View Post
    So the bigger the plug welds the better?

Holes are currently 1/4", process is flux-core.

There is nothing wrong with what you are trying to do. I am only referring to your plan of utilizing plug welds to join two pieces of steel. There is, however, a "fly in the ointment". That is your 1/4 inch holes. They need to be larger. They are too small.
    And it is "arc force" that will provide your divot. That's one way of describing it at least.

Sent from my E6810 using http://tiny.cc/Forums_reader

Post Thanks / Like

Okay, then I'll make the holes as large as the bar being joined: 3/8", or maybe just 23/64".