+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Old Airco Welder becoming Safety Hazard

Post Thanks / Like

Old Airco Welder becoming Safety Hazard

Hello Everyone.

I am a college student, and I bought an ancient (Circa 1965) Airco welder a few years back. I have used it a lot for TIG and stick, and it has worked very well for me. Unfortunately, in the last few weeks I've been getting shocked by the ground clamp when I have the machine on DCEP and DCEN. I checked the voltages and here's what I got

45v from Work clamp to ground --> 45v from ground to stinger on DCEP
    -45V from work clamp to ground --> -45V from ground to stinger on DCEN
    0V from work clamp to ground on AC

I double checked by wiring from the wall and everything checks out. I have attached some pictures of my setup and a circuit diagram for everyone to look at. If you know of any possible causes for this and remedies please let me know. The machine still welds beautifully and I just did a big aluminum fabrication project on AC tig where didn't shock me at all. DC is the issue.

I would really hate to sell this machine for scrap, I learned to weld on it and have made some cool stuff. But if it is a safety hazard I'm not willing to get electrocuted to save a 60 year old machine.

Name:  Screen Shot 2021-09-16 at 11.18.18 AM.jpg
Views: 533
Size:  119.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_0382.jpg
Views: 494
Size:  104.0 KB
    Name:  IMG_0383.jpg
Views: 457
Size:  102.7 KB
    Name:  65108474706__A1E9C983-A2B8-4508-9512-91BFDF863893.jpg
Views: 460
Size:  133.5 KB
    Last edited by sbmarcom248; 09-16-2021 at 11:31 AM.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Old Airco Welder becoming Safety Hazard

I have a similar welder (Miller 330AB/P) that behaves similarly (never checked it on AC, though). I think I get maybe 15VDC from the leads to ground.

I'm just careful to wear gloves and boots (or rubber-soled shoes) when using it. Probably not what you wanted to hear, but...

Post Thanks / Like