Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Plasma cutting advice and i need a cheap plasma cutter

Post Thanks / Like

Plasma cutting advice and i need a cheap plasma cutter

Hello, i just joined today. I'm a hobbyist welder and need advice on plasma cutters. My first question is can i cut thin sheet metal with a plasma cutter? And my next question is about buying a plasma cutter. I cant afford an expensive machine and I'm looking for a cheap one, but i worry that i wont be able to get the consumables if the machine is discontinued in the future. Are plasma cutting torches interchangeable? Are the consumables interchangeable? Thank you.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Plasma cutting advice and i need a cheap plasma cutter

Yes you can cut thin sheet metal with a plasma cutter, if the machine is discontinued you will likely still be able to find consumables on ebay. Torches are not always interchangeable, but on the cheap plasma cutters there are only 2 or 3 manufacturers and they all seem to copy a couple of common designs (Trafimet, etc.)

But I have to ask, have you researched alternate cutting methods? If you are working on thin sheet metal, there are many viable alternatives that won't cost hardly any money and may actually work better than your garden variety Chicom made plasma cutter that you get off of Amazon. A jig saw comes to mind, as does a metal cutting circular saw, zip wheels, and any number of others.
    Miller Multimatic 255

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you. Yes i have researched other cutting methods such as you mentioned, along with air tools such as shears and air nibblers. I also want to cut thicker metal too, and I want to use patterns to cut out shapes. I thought about using my oxy propane torch on thicker metals but I'm not sure if I can use patterns with it, and I've never tried cutting sheet metal with it. I have considered your advice and its still a good option for me, but i would like to use patterns.

Post Thanks / Like