Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 68

Thread: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

  1. #26
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    1,282
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    A 400, a 415, a 480 and a 600 volt breaker will all work.

    Think he found a 480 volt for $39 each. Worth a shot could be junk or most likely it will do the job fine for the purpose for quite some time.

    Switching it on and off with no/minimum load so it should last.

  2. Likes Oscar liked this post
  3. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Yup, I was 99.999999999999999% sure, thank you for confirming.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  4. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I would look on Amazon I found China made breakers .
    www.aliexpress.com will have your breaker but will take time

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Yup, I was 99.999999999999999% sure, thank you for confirming.

  5. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    I would look on Amazon I found China made breakers .
    www.aliexpress.com will have your breaker but will take time

    Dave
    You are way too late to the party.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  6. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    WillieB + danielplace: B or C curve ? The welder pulls I1max at 21.5A, which is only a 1.1 factor over a 20A rating, so even with a 20A breaker, the welder would hit overload (duty cycle at 77F is ~ 45%) before a B-curve breaker would trip?





    Thoughts?
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  7. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Mount Tabor VT
    Posts
    7,978
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    It is my opinion that protecting from duty cycle limits is not the job of the circuit breaker. I don't want to wait for a circuit breaker to trip.
    Circuit breaker properly sized will not trip under any normal operating condition.
    Internal thermal protection senses heat build up & opens to prevent damage, or more accurately, limit damage.
    I still feel it is best to me mindful of heat, and give it a rest to cool after a tough task. In my experience, I'm the fitter. I have plenty to do to let the fan do its job, don't need to abuse the welder.

    If that level of control is desired, consider a motor control. Square D is the brand I use. Motor logic controls have magnetic sensing & are adjustable.
    Last edited by Willie B; 09-30-2021 at 08:37 AM.
    An optimist is usually wrong, and when the unexpected happens is unprepared. A pessimist is usually right, when wrong, is delighted, and well prepared.

  8. #32
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    1,607
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Always choose a C or a D type breaker for a welder. Even inverters. The current inrush can trip a B type, and sometimes an arc-up. I have a B16 on one of my sockets and my welders often trip it on start-up. The others are C20s and have no problems.

    The Imax is not the same as instantaneous inrush.
    Last edited by Munkul; 09-30-2021 at 10:00 AM.
    Murphy's Golden Rule: Whoever has the gold, makes the rules.

  9. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    The best I found was time delay fuses for welding and machine tools. The breakers I need to increase the size but time delay fuses I could run smaller wires and still meet code.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Munkul View Post
    Always choose a C or a D type breaker for a welder. Even inverters. The current inrush can trip a B type, and sometimes an arc-up. I have a B16 on one of my sockets and my welders often trip it on start-up. The others are C20s and have no problems.

    The Imax is not the same as instantaneous inrush.

  10. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,082
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I have a 3-pole, 480v, 100A Westinghouse breaker here that is about 1/3 the size of a shoebox. Came out of the community college welding shop when they did a complete renovation. Probably a spare.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  11. #35
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Oldendum View Post
    I have a 3-pole, 480v, 100A Westinghouse breaker here that is about 1/3 the size of a shoebox. Came out of the community college welding shop when they did a complete renovation. Probably a spare.
    Nice, but doesn't help me, lol.

    WillieB, thanks but you mis-understood what I was getting at.

    Munkul, thanks for the insight.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  12. #36
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4,299
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    Nice, but doesn't help me, lol.

    WillieB, thanks but you mis-understood what I was getting at.

    Munkul, thanks for the insight.


    Why even ask for help???

    Edit: why ask for help?

  13. #37
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I agree 👍

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Insaneride View Post
    Why even ask for help???

    Edit: why ask for help?

  14. Likes Insaneride liked this post
  15. #38
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    because some people do get me, and don't get side tracked and do post great replies. 100A is pretty outside the range of what I need, dont'cha say?
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  16. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    320
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I get you. Lone Star beer and ribs. Who doesn't get that?

  17. Likes Oscar liked this post
  18. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Location
    Near Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    535
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I am wondering why fuses are not the answer to this question??
    In the 1990s, where I worked, we built a LOT of high voltage controls for large motors,,

    Everything was fuse protected, not circuit breakers.
    With fuses, it is real easy to customize for an exact amperage, and you can select the "rate" at which the protection occurs.

    This was multi-million dollar drives we were manufacturing,,
    (We even built the drives that were involved in the "little problem" that occurred in Japan at the nuclear power plant a few years ago)

  19. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Woznme View Post
    I get you. Lone Star beer and ribs. Who doesn't get that?
    and Brisket!



    Quote Originally Posted by SweetMK View Post
    I am wondering why fuses are not the answer to this question??
    Well, is there not more than 1 way to skin a cat? I'm certain they would work, but they are not the only way.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  20. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  21. #42
    Join Date
    Dec 2018
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    939
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    the brisket looks delicious, but did you notice the demon eyes peering down from on high? Looks like the punisher has his eyes on your meat.

  22. #43
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by SlowBlues View Post
    the brisket looks delicious, but did you notice the demon eyes peering down from on high? Looks like the punisher has his eyes on your meat.
    hehe, yup looks pretty cool. Slow n low, 220-230F for ~24 hours on blackjack oak. Fall apart tender.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  23. #44
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4,299
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    because some people do get me, and don't get side tracked and do post great replies. 100A is pretty outside the range of what I need, dont'cha say?
    100A is outa the range of what you need but you don't need to weld, don'tcha say?

    Seriously tho, you get a machine that wasn't engineered for your mains, you want to re-invent electrical panel, diss all advice and then your never gonna weld anything of significance with it. No?

    My advice altho you won't except is; use fuse
    Last edited by Insaneride; 10-01-2021 at 08:22 PM.

  24. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    No I don't diss all the advice. I'm actually taking some advice here and there from people who's opinion/expertise I do hold in high regard. If you don't like what I do, then too bad. It doesn't affect your life, at least it shouldn't, so why would it matter what I do or don't do with my crap? Your "serious" question is completely irrelevant.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  25. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I still post as it will help others.
    Oscar is trying excuse him self.
    Some need the information as they only read post.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Insaneride View Post
    Why even ask for help???

    Edit: why ask for help?

  26. #47
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    I still post as it will help others.
    Oscar is trying excuse him self.
    Some need the information as they only read post.

    Dave
    You are the last person here who would know what I am doing. Please don't say what I am doing or not doing. I am certainly not trying to excuse myself from this thread.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



  27. #48
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,569
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    I guess I missed what you are saying.

    Sorry 😞

    Quote Originally Posted by Oscar View Post
    You are the last person here who would know what I am doing. Please don't say what I am doing or not doing. I am certainly not trying to excuse myself from this thread.

  28. #49
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    central Wis.
    Posts
    5,997
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    The output on a typical rotary phase converter as provided doesn't have overload protection on the output side. My understanding is( it can be hard to tell with Oscar) is that he wants to protect the output side on the converter before it feeds the step up transformer. I did similar with mine, minus the transformer. I used the 400 or 480 volt rated ones from Amazon mentioned in a previous post. I used dinse rail mount types mounted inside the enclosure.

  29. #50
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Laredo, Tx
    Posts
    5,967
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: I Need a 400V, 3-pole, 25A circuit breaker.....what would you use?

    The output of the RPC is already protected by a standard 240V/40A 3-pole breaker. I was looking for ideas/suggestions on actual breakers (and only breakers) that are rated to 400V (or even higher) for the output of the transformer. There is nothing to "tell", as I'm always pretty direct with my inquiries. I was looking for suggestions on suitable 400V 3-ph breakers, nothing more, nothing less.
    1st on WeldingWeb to have a scrolling sig!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,638,740,763.86767 seconds with 12 queries