Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Got A Stupid Total Newb Sheetmetal Question

Post Thanks / Like

Got A Stupid Total Newb Sheetmetal Question

Just joined the site and currently in the process of researching/educating myself on welding. I don't think I've ever seen a welder in person so I'm really starting from the beginning lol. I have a bit of a predicament on my hands with my truck. Just bought the stupid truck a few months ago, a used 2012 Sierra SLE Z71. I noticed some paint bubbling on the external portion of the wheel well. I thought it was a minor rust issue so I wire brushed the paint away and found pretty extensive rust damage, it went through both layers of the sheet metal.

I'm planning on borrowing my brother's crappy Harbor Freight welder that he never uses to attempt a fix. I'll probably practice spot welds/tacking (sorry still trying to learn the terms) sheet metal that's the same gauge as the truck's body for about a month or so before attempting the fix. I'm also going to buy and study the book Welding: Principles and Applications 7th edition. It's $28 on Amazon so I figure that's a good buy to at least make me not as clueless as I am right now.

Sorry, long *** post already. Too many details. Anyway, as a more experienced welder, would you recommend buying new sheet metal and trying to fabricate/bend to the correct shape? Or I was thinking I could, if I'm lucky, find a truck at one of the local junk yards with the same truck bed style and cut out the section from the rear wheel wells. I'll probably have to use a hacksaw to cut it out though lol.

If you read all that, thanks for your patience. I'm hoping I don't completely screw up and come to hate welding. I've wanted to learn how to weld for a long time and this truck is forcing me to jump in now. Planning on buying either the Hobart 140 or 210 MVP in the near future if I come to like welding. Thanks

P.S. the truck is my secondary vehicle so I rarely drive it. I'm in no real rush to fix it.