Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mig power and feed settings

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Mig power and feed settings

    I have a Hobart 130. It has a chart which provide setting for different thickness and for the type of wire. I have an ArCO2 bottle. I have noticed that when I use the recommended settings, the feed rate is too and and the wire start to pile up in the puddle. So I adjust it down and then things work out.

    Here is one I don't quite know how to adjust for. Lets say I have 1/4 inches thick piece of steel angel and I want to weld an 1/8 inch piece of flat stock to it. Is there a rule of thumb on how to adjust voltage and wire feed when I have a difference in the thickness of stock? Is it just a matter of trial and error on some scrap to figure it out?
    Last edited by smokey9701; 10-18-2021 at 12:18 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Sebeka and Bemidji MN
    Posts
    14,898
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    The door charts just get you close, you are right to adjust as needed.

    For thick to thin, set for the thicker piece, then hold more arc/bead on the thicker piece.
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    Quote Originally Posted by MinnesotaDave View Post
    The door charts just get you close, you are right to adjust as needed.

    For thick to thin, set for the thicker piece, then hold more arc/bead on the thicker piece.
    Well, that is kind of what I have been doing so I guess I have been on the right track.

    Thanks for the information.

  4. Likes MinnesotaDave liked this post
  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    3,539
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    It would nice if chart had range everyone welds different and power coming to will very .
    With self I even found the morning to different are after noon different.

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by smokey9701 View Post
    I have a Hobart 130. It has a chart which provide setting for different thickness and for the type of wire. I have an ArCO2 bottle. I have noticed that when I use the recommended settings, the feed rate is too and and the wire start to pile up in the puddle. So I adjust it down and then things work out.

    Here is one I don't quite know how to adjust for. Lets say I have 1/4 inches thick piece of steel angel and I want to weld an 1/8 inch piece of flat stock to it. Is there a rule of thumb on how to adjust voltage and wire feed when I have a difference in the thickness of stock? Is it just a matter of trial and error on some scrap to figure it out?

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    1,459
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    That is a wide open machine for that type of joint.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    utube TimWelds perfect mig welder
    settings in 3 asy steps

    using an everlast cyclone mig....has power set feature

    shows bunch of metal thickness on screen...usually weld 1/8...gives 19 260

    a few minor problems with this everlast....

    I like the mig torch, swivel thingy bottom handle, very comfortable to use...

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    7
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Mig power and feed settings

    Quote Originally Posted by xmmancharl View Post
    utube TimWelds perfect mig welder
    settings in 3 asy steps

    using an everlast cyclone mig....has power set feature

    shows bunch of metal thickness on SCREEN...usually weld 1/8...gives 19 260
    No digital display on a Hobart 120Volt model 130. Amp settings are 1 2 3 4 5 and that's it. Wire feed is variable. It works for light jobs. At the time I got it, I only had access to 120 single phase. I now have a shop with 220V so it may be time to move up. But, it does work for the jobs I need to do and I have yet to have it cut out due to duty cycle overload.

  9. Likes xmmancharl liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,638,494,201.42174 seconds with 12 queries