Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Dialarc

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Dialarc

    Hey guys. I picked up a dialarc HF from a tech school auction. Machine is clean. So….if my service isn’t up to par is it possible that the machine wouldn’t even power up? No fan… no nothing. I plug it in and get 120v on each of the 2 wires. Before and after switch. Jumpers are per manual for 230v. I normally run my Lincoln 255 mig on this outlet with no issues. Not sure on details about wiring size to outlet but looking into that now. Figured I’d ask here in the meantime. Maybe i got shafted.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1,904
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    I don't know what you are plugging it into but if it runs a 255 then the answer to your 1st question is no. Check from hot to hot for 230/240v. Checking 240v circuits against ground/common can read the same 120 v twice rather than 240 volts and can give you a mistaken idea that your power is okay..
    ---Meltedmetal

  3. Likes Oldendum, scsmith42 liked this post
  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,085
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Looks like the PowerMIG 255 is 208/230/60 Hz or 230/460/575/60Hz depending on version. If yours is happy on 230V from that outlet, then the Dialarc should do something.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,085
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Looks like the PowerMIG 255 is 208/230/60 Hz or 230/460/575/60Hz depending on version. If yours is happy on 230V from that outlet, then the Dialarc should do something.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    7,085
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    duplicate post.
    "USMCPOP" First-born son: KIA Iraq 1/26/05
    Syncrowave 250 w/ Coolmate 3
    Dialarc 250, Idealarc 250
    SP-175 +
    Firepower TIG 160S (gave the TA 161 STL to the son)
    Lincwelder AC180C (1952)
    Victor & Smith O/A torches
    Miller spot welder

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ct.
    Posts
    1,427
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    If it’s wired correctly and power is good then it seems like
    transformer and fan have both failed(?).
    How about checking fan for continuity?
    Miller a/c-d/c Thunderbolt XL
    Millermatic 180
    Purox O/A
    Smith Littletorch O/A
    Hobart Champion Elite

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    I’ll check continuity tomorrow. Just odd has 119-120v on each stud and jumpers are correct. Won’t even spark with 3/32 7018. Name:  C0797FE1-787B-4298-9FAC-E15E376C2EE0.jpg
Views: 89
Size:  92.6 KB

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Ceres, California
    Posts
    3,968
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    when testing a 240 volt welder. Do not measure to the case ground.
    Measure wire to wire. Start at the line cord terminals. you should have 230 to 245 VAC. Then go two the line switch. with switch off find the two hot wires. should read 230 to 245 also. connect to the two dead wires then turn switch on you should get 230 to 245 volts if switch is good. you you get zero switch is bad. If you had measure from ground you can get 120 volts on all 4 terminals with the switch on and have a switch with one contact open. This is because you are reading through the transformer. This also makes it hard to test the switch with an ohmmeter unless you remove at least one wire to the transformer.
    you can also test for a bad line switch by testing at the jumper links just about the line cord terminals. link to link will read 230 to 245 if switch is good.
    230 volt fan motor is across the links when set for 230 volts.
    The line switch is the weakest part on these units. let some one turn off the welder while it is welding a few times and switch may die.

  10. Likes Meltedmetal liked this post
  11. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Big Lake/Monticello MN
    Posts
    14,939
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Dialarc HF is also a tig machine.

    Your amp switch must be set to "local" or "panel", not "remote"

    Take a pic of your switch positions.

    Not sure why your fan doesn't work?
    Dave J.

    Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

    Syncro 350
    Invertec v250-s
    Thermal Arc 161 and 300
    MM210
    Dialarc
    Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Name:  image.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  98.2 KBSwitch positions

  13. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    ct.
    Posts
    1,427
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Does transformer hum?
    Miller a/c-d/c Thunderbolt XL
    Millermatic 180
    Purox O/A
    Smith Littletorch O/A
    Hobart Champion Elite

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Quote Originally Posted by ccawgc View Post
    when testing a 240 volt welder. Do not measure to the case ground.
    Measure wire to wire. Start at the line cord terminals. you should have 230 to 245 VAC. Then go two the line switch. with switch off find the two hot wires. should read 230 to 245 also. connect to the two dead wires then turn switch on you should get 230 to 245 volts if switch is good. you you get zero switch is bad. If you had measure from ground you can get 120 volts on all 4 terminals with the switch on and have a switch with one contact open. This is because you are reading through the transformer. This also makes it hard to test the switch with an ohmmeter unless you remove at least one wire to the transformer.
    you can also test for a bad line switch by testing at the jumper links just about the line cord terminals. link to link will read 230 to 245 if switch is good.
    230 volt fan motor is across the links when set for 230 volts.
    The line switch is the weakest part on these units. let some one turn off the welder while it is welding a few times and switch may die.
    did this and found that the switch is bad. Thanks!! Never knew to check it that way. Thanks again!,

  15. Likes whtbaron liked this post
  16. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    1,832
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Dialarc

    Dandy looking machine. Needs some big ole chunks of lead so you can reach out in the yard.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,642,410,585.39014 seconds with 15 queries