Thread: How much variation in current flow from 14" full rod to a 1" rod nearly used-up?

Post Thanks / Like

How much variation in current flow from 14" full rod to a 1" rod nearly used-up?

Hi,
    I was a farm machinery repair welder about 45 years ago using a Lincoln AC-225 buzz box.
    I am thinking about getting back into SMAW welding. I got thinking. If one were
    carefully thinking about fine adjustment of current setting, how much does the current flow
    vary from using a new 14" rod to using a 1" rod that is almost used-up? Since the rod
    presents some electrical resistance, there is probably a difference in current flow through a
    new 14" rod vs a nearly used-up 1" rod. Has anyone done testing or some calculations on
    how the current flow increases as the electrode rod becomes shorter?

I now have a Miller AC/DC 225/140 and an old 1960's Ideal Arc AC/DC 300/250 both which have
    infinite adjustment of the current setting. Stated another way, if I were to set to a
    certain currently when I am starting out with a new 14" rod, how much do I want to decrease
    the current adjustment (of the welder) as the rod shortens down to 1"? Are we talking a
    current difference of 5 to 10 amps for a new 14" rod versus a nearly used-up 1" rod?
    Last edited by Orson_Yancey; 12-06-2021 at 05:16 PM.
    Orson
    Portsmouth, NH

Lincoln AC/DC 225/125 flat top tombstone buzzbox Mfg. 2018
    Lincoln Idealarc 250 Code 5825-C, Mfg. 1966
    Dayton 240 volt spot welder
    Oxyacetylene torch

Post Thanks / Like

Re: How much variation in current flow from 14" full rod to a 1" rod nearly used-up?

I never gave it much thought. I guess with a clampon ammeter you satisfy your curiosity.
    Ol' Stonebreaker
    "Experience is the name everyone gives to their mistakes"
    Hobart G-213 portable
    Miller 175 mig
    Miller thunderbolt ac/dc stick
    Victor O/A setup
    Makita chop saw

3. Likes Orson_Yancey liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like