+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Vulcan 220 Hot Star Setting and Verification

Post Thanks / Like

Vulcan 220 Hot Star Setting and Verification

Hello all, I've been using my Vulcan 220 for MIG welding for several years now and always pleased with the results.

So while looking for a change I'm trying my hand at stick welding and having a bit of a problem with the welding rod immediately sticking when it contacts the steel surface. Mostly my errors but not totally convinced.

My question is can someone verify what the LCD displays for the amp draw when striking an arc with the HOT Start option set to anything above 0. I made a video to show what I think may be a problem with the Hot Start function on my 220.

With HOT Start selected it should give an initial burst of amperage (Percentage 1%-100%) increase over the selected amperage for the first second or two. Mine seems to be holding the selected base amps and not showing the increase. In this video I've added 6 (60%) for the Hot Start and as you can see it starts and stays stable at 71 while welding a bead from beginning to end. Additionally I don't notice any surge with the arc itself.

Can anyone verify if this is normal or should the amps displayed jump up for a second or two during start? I've watched dozens of videos with other brand welders and they all show an initial Hot Start amp increase but mine doesn't.

Let me know if you're getting an initial increase. I'm guessing other Vulcan stick welders with the Hot Start function are the same by design but not sure.

Cheers.

Old Lincoln Weld-Pak 100 MIG conversion
    Vulcan 220 Omnipro

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Vulcan 220 Hot Star Setting and Verification