+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Airco 250 Amp DC Hornet D-E

Post Thanks / Like

Airco 250 Amp DC Hornet D-E

Newbie here and I need some expert help.
    I have an Airco 250 Amp DC Hornet D-E that has a Kubota D850 3 cyl diesel engine - engine runs strong but that is it. No excited electrons from the generator - zero... Weld or AC.
    I am having a tough time finding any real information on this machine. I know Miller and Generac made machines for Airco but nothing I have found really matches up to this one. I would like to find a diagram and generator test procedure. The engine is worth $ but I would really like to make it work since it is in really great shape rather than scrap the unit for the engine.
    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
    I have photos of the placards, machine, the engine and all, but am not yet fully aware of how to add them to this post. As I lurk around the site I am sure I will figure it out.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Airco 250 Amp DC Hornet D-E

I had one of those that I ended up junking around 2007 I never had much in the way of manuals and such, but I was able to chase down the manufacture of the voltage control unit to Generac in Wisconsin. The electronic voltage control was what was originally wrong with mine. After paying $453.00 for one and having only last a few hours, I decided to try and repair the one I had and while the schematic for that is proprietary information, a tech there was able to read me the resistor values for my unit. I used that machine for around 10 years and had no problems until the day all the majic smoke came out. I guess you should try contacting Generac welder service and see if they can help you. Good luck.

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks J.D.