+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Labor Pricing

Post Thanks / Like

Labor Pricing

I’m trying to start my own ornamental iron business. I’ve been doing it for several years, but I’m having trouble learning the business side. My former employer wouldn’t help me learn how to price my work even though they were retiring and getting out of the business. Any help y’all can give would be much appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Labor Pricing

Enough to give them a heart attack, not enough to kill them.

Post Thanks / Like

This question has been asked and answered many times. Try using search. Use phrases like shop rates, labor rates, how much would you charge, etc.
    Miller Multimatic 255

Post Thanks / Like

Given our current state, your employer may not have known? Cover your gass.

Post Thanks / Like

The only toll was just call others in same line of work.
    Getting started you need to have a better price.
    My line work at time only had 3 other companies in America and we new everyone. So this did not work for me.
    But contractors did tell me there price.
    The ornamental iron business is harder since a lot more in work and they can work from backyard too. In California to install ornamental you need a contractors license too. Other states just a business license [always make a portable type work fewer problems]

Dave

Quote Originally Posted by Ruger View Post
    I’m trying to start my own ornamental iron business. I’ve been doing it for several years, but I’m having trouble learning the business side. My former employer wouldn’t help me learn how to price my work even though they were retiring and getting out of the business. Any help y’all can give would be much appreciated.

Post Thanks / Like

If your in NJ, good luck! You may find out the hard way why smaller guys aren't there anymore.

Post Thanks / Like

Any self employment can have up's and downs. Typically the big guys have good ads and word of mouth.