Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    Has anyone tried a torch mounted slider or rotary amptrol from USA Weld?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    10,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    I have the CK amptrols for Miller and Lincoln. Just ok. I ditched them for the SSC controls Touch 4. Much better. Since SSC make foot controls, they may also offer the amptrol.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    MillerDynasty700DX,Dynasty350DX4ea,Dynasty200DX,Li ncolnSW200-2ea.,MillerMatic350P,MillerMatic200w/spoolgun,MKCobraMig260,Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm1250,HFProTig2ea,MigMax1ea.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    Are you happy with the touch 4 having only 4 settings when welding aluminum?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    580
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    Have you seen the "TigButton" on 6061's site?

    Not Cheap, but is more of an infinite control instead of 4 steps. I like it, works Really well on Alum (and not just for him, he makes Everything look good of course )

    I have the USA Weld Amptrol for the PP220 Mig that I got from them. It's made by CK (comes in a CK box even)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    14
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    I looked into the TIG button but itís not available for Vulcan machines.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    4,751
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    The touch 4 steps/movement are minute and relatively imperceptible, feels continuous. I like mine been. Been using it for about 4 yrs.

  7. Likes metalman21 liked this post
  8. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SoCal-LA
    Posts
    10,033
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    Quote Originally Posted by danike110 View Post
    Are you happy with the touch 4 having only 4 settings when welding aluminum?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Yes, happy. In fact it is the quickest and most precise of the ones I have. I have had the dial type, the slide type, and have a couple lf CK belt drive amptrols. We only use the Touch4 now and have taken a beating. I figure we have over 20k starts on the Miller Touch4. And a few thousand on the Lincoln Touch4. CK belt drives are only good for about 1k arc starts.

    Having only 4 steps is barely noticed.
    Last edited by shovelon; 4 Days Ago at 11:07 PM.
    Weld like a "WELDOR", not a wel-"DERR"
    MillerDynasty700DX,Dynasty350DX4ea,Dynasty200DX,Li ncolnSW200-2ea.,MillerMatic350P,MillerMatic200w/spoolgun,MKCobraMig260,Lincoln SP-170T,PlasmaCam/Hypertherm1250,HFProTig2ea,MigMax1ea.

  9. Likes metalman21 liked this post
  10. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Southern CT
    Posts
    806
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Amptrol for Vulcan Pro Tig 205

    The touch 4 is also much simpler to install. Comes with the appropriate cable end for whatever machine and it just plugs in the same receptacle as the foot pedal.
    If I recall that other button brand has external power supply, wires etc., something like that. Seemed awkward to me.
    I have 2 of the SSC touch 4 units and they are especially great for out of position welds where you just canít use the foot pedal.
    Ernie F.

  11. Likes shovelon liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,653,172,498.67259 seconds with 14 queries