Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 57 of 57

Thread: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    4,173
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    Quote Originally Posted by SOHC View Post
    Is that an acetylene generator to the right?

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Buffalo NY area
    Posts
    193
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    Is that an acetylene generator to the right?
    Sure looks like it -- you don't see many of those any more either! I've heard that they can do 1,000 CFH all day long.
    Use a bigger hammer.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Clovis California
    Posts
    7,207
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    That what everyone needs to cut costs on gas today.
    Now a block of dry ice 🧊 for CO2

    Dave

    Quote Originally Posted by Welder Dave View Post
    Is that an acetylene generator to the right?

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Feb 2022
    Posts
    20
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    Quote Originally Posted by smithdoor View Post
    That what everyone needs to cut costs on gas today.
    Now a block of dry ice 🧊 for CO2

    Dave
    That would be N2

    Sent from my SM-N975U using Tapatalk

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    3,741
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    Even the Amish dont use old welder like that, they gotta make their own power so were early inverter adopters.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    3,741
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    Quote Originally Posted by Leogl View Post
    Back to the basic question can it run off a add a phase or rotary phase maybe if you have a big enough one which goes back to the feasibility it probably runs on 35 to 40 amps so gonna take 60 amps to start it ! So for a short duration you need a lot of amps
    can you run it dropping one leg probably but your going to be derated!
    Can you add capacitors and etc , etc ,etc , yes maybe but the average guy at home isn’t going to do that the feasibility of it is not there
    Feasibility , reliability and the ability to do some of that restricts the average user
    I also will bring up one point that all of that brings up questions if the insurance man comes and looks things over
    If it was feasible everyone would do it because there are a lot of those old motor Generators around they wouldn’t be going to the junkyard
    My point is we shouldn’t be telling people it can be done if you don’t have one sitting in your shop working telling somebody who is new at this that it can be done in theory isn’t the best practice .
    I haven't done it. A friend is an electrician & self taught machinist. He uses a rope around the shaft to start a three phase motor on single phase. This is pretty lame power source. He then switches other motors on using the first as power supply. A bare minimum of three three phase motors must be run idling to supply a third phase & ultimately supply the lathe, or mill you hope to supply. He estimated the motor doing the work to produce 1/2 the torque & horsepower it should.

    It causes several problems in the loaded motor, is not a perfect system.
    After a while,,,, I can have any of this I want for relatively free, could have for sure several timer over and if I did would have moved to town for a shop due to roads and power. Stuff changes, I thought I might end up with some kind of machine shop but a fire and starting over trimmed it back and over a period of time just found a shortcut or simpler way of dealing with the stuff. I got buds with machines if I gotta but so rare we cant come up with something.
    I can do without a 3 ph converter but a battery drill is another matter. I live on the end of a rural power line, the poco is very good but they really dont want us starting big motors anyway. Biggest motor I have is 5 and dont own or use anything would overheat a 10 wire.
    Last edited by Sberry; 4 Weeks Ago at 09:43 PM.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Brethren, Mi
    Posts
    3,741
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Lincoln vertical bullet welder

    I understand it as a hobby and the true tech but hate it when a newbie comes and starts asking about converting this CP200 he got such a deal on or some stuff like that, even the big ole trannys, wanna run then on a dryer outlet, sheet, just junk. This usually goes,,, my best buds pal the maint electrician down at the plant said,,,, ha Point being, after a while can really appreciate the simplicity of plugging it in,,,, the power strip, a 3 way and even lamp cord on occasion. Had a bud call a while back and gonna rush off to the supply house for the ultimate wire job in a racecar/cargo trailer he bought. Got every scheme dreamed up a guy can think of, banks of breakers for every frickin light and about 300 ft of conduit and a box of switches.
    I try to tell him, he has small genset, get 2 power strips and a couple lamp cords,. Put any stuff you might want to run inverter on one, use another for lights and plug both in to a 3 way and get heavy cord so when you got land power get that, small bat charger, when you invert simply inplug the strip and plug to inverter and when you use genset plug both in to it. Hand plug in lights to lamp cords. Wire this in about an hour for 50$ minus the cost of a cord. Infinitely adaptable.
    Last edited by Sberry; 4 Weeks Ago at 09:59 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Page generated in 1,660,148,702.35648 seconds with 13 queries