Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Trouble with Titanium MIG

Post Thanks / Like

Trouble with Titanium MIG

Hello,

I am new to the forum. I did post in the new member forum. I am a hobbyist welder working on automotive projects - sheet metal, frames, axle housings. I am not a pro by any means, but I have a moderate amount of experience.

7 months ago I upgraded(?) to a Titanium Multi Process welder from Harbor Freight. It is currently setup with 0.025 wire, 75/25 gas, and 120V. I had the welder dialed in to where I liked it for 18 gauge sheet metal, but now I am having an absolutely terrible time with burn back. Every single time I pull the trigger, the wire burns back. It is completely unusable.

This issue started after I welded thicker material with 0.035" wire. I had no issues welding the thicker material, but after I swapped back to the 0.025" wire/settings, I started having this issue.

These are things I've tried:
    -Gone back to chart recommendations for sheet metal
    -Gone to extreme ends of each: wire speed, voltage, inductance
    -Went through the spool setup procedure. Wire feeds well.
    -Checked all connections.
    -2000psi, 25 CFM
    -Tried a 0.030 tip w/ 0.025 wire
    -Disassembled torch, inspected and cleaned everything

I have no idea what else to do. In the middle of some big projects and this is very frustrating. I would appreciate any advice.

Thank you.
    Last edited by Locust; 08-01-2022 at 11:13 AM.

2. Likes NotaVegetarian liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Trouble with Titanium MIG

To correct my initial post: It was 0.030" that I had swapped to temporarily for the thicker material (not 0.035 like I originally said, can't seem to find edit button).