Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Switching From Acetylene To Propane

Post Thanks / Like

Switching From Acetylene To Propane

Hello, I'll start by saying I'm a hobbyist welder. I want to change my oxy/acetylene torch over to oxy/propane. The problem I'm having is what adapter to use between my acetylene regulator (CGA-510) and a 20 or 30 pound BBQ style propane tank. I have seen some adapters but they don't appear to have the little nub on the end needed to activate the propane tank? I already have the correct (T) hoses, torch tips, etc. The hang-up is the adapter. Can anyone supply the correct adapter part number. Many thanks in advance.

Kurt

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Switching From Acetylene To Propane

Quote Originally Posted by Uncrichie View Post
    Hello, I'll start by saying I'm a hobbyist welder. I want to change my oxy/acetylene torch over to oxy/propane. The problem I'm having is what adapter to use between my acetylene regulator (CGA-510) and a 20 or 30 pound BBQ style propane tank. I have seen some adapters but they don't appear to have the little nub on the end needed to activate the propane tank? I already have the correct (T) hoses, torch tips, etc. The hang-up is the adapter. Can anyone supply the correct adapter part number. Many thanks in advance.

Kurt
    We discussed a lot of this in the torch thread i started

The acetylene regulator (for a large tank) should fit any propane tank.

You will need to get a propane tip for your torch and run appropriate pressures

If your acetylene regulator is one for a small plumbing size acetylene then you will need a larger regulator. Any acetylene or propane regulator for that size tank is good. A victor one is around $80.
    www.FirehouseFabricators.com

Zach

Millermatic 255
    Lincoln SW200
    Hypertherm Powermax 45xp
    2x4 CNC Plasma Table.

Post Thanks / Like