+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Why is my project warping / managing heat

Post Thanks / Like

Why is my project warping / managing heat

Hello All, I'm new to welding and am trying to shorten the learning curve on the effects of heat and managing heat/warping.

I've been welding together 1/8" steel scrap to make a lower shelf panel for my table. I have 2.5" wide strips and 1X2" rectangles that I'm welding together (see photo). The first part I made was two of the strips with three of the rectangles between. I tacked it together then went back and welded all of the top side welds without any significant pauses. The piece bowed up from the table about 1/2" as it cooled. Piece was only 24" long. Assumedly this was due to the heat. I clamped down (i.e., in the vertical plane) the next few pieces, took pauses between welds and spritzed them with water after each weld to try to draw off heat. Those pieces have ended up much more flat. On one piece the 1X2" rectangles each retracted up a few degrees after they cooled and I had to bend them. Is this common? How does one minimize heat warpage? Does clamping things help or does it just hold off the inevitable? Should I be pausing to let heat dissipate between welds on this project? Any and all wisdom is welcome.

In case it matters, I was using flux-core wire in an Esab EM210 (220 plug) with the recommended settings.

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images  

2. Likes Bradley256 liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Why is my project warping / managing heat