+ Reply to Thread

Thread: My First Ever Pipe Weld

Post Thanks / Like

My First Ever Pipe Weld

As some of you know, I'm fairly new to welding, and am in my first semester of welding school. My first class was on August 10th, and then the first week of September, my wife and I got covid for the first time. Had to miss a couple of classes, then my Dad, age 91, passed away on September 11, and because they live about 200 miles away from me, I had to miss another class due to the funeral. My welding instructor has been very nice thru it all, and has allowed me to come in more evenings to make up my missed classes.

This was one of the things I welded last night, my first ever pipe weld. We didn't know it, but the row of welders on the line I was on was running out of gas, but even though this was my first pipe weld, I thought it was pretty decent. No undercut, but the mig gun would flame out, but I made it around the pipe. It might not be up to you experienced guys standards, but given the issues, whatcha think?

Name:  first pipe weld.jpg
Views: 520
Size:  203.9 KB We've been thru stick, then MIG, and tonight he's starting our class on TIG. Looks like we might have time to actually make a class project by the end of November.
    Last edited by RCWelds; 09-28-2022 at 07:24 AM.
    Miller Multimatic 215, Bobcat 260 EFI
    Spoolmate 150 spool gun, Miller TIG kit
    PrimeWeld MIG-285, Primeweld Cut 60 Plasma Cutter
    Vevor Pipe Stands,
    Bauer Portaband/Swag table
    Makita, Milwaukee, Porter Cable, Dewalt
    ArcUnion M-20 portable rod oven

2. Likes whtbaron, tiggen liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: My First Ever Pipe Weld

Kudos for taking classes, learning the right way first time including some theory and safety no doubt.
    If you had full gas flow and the coupons were descaled the result would have been better for sure. Keep practicing!

4. Likes wb4rt liked this post
    Post Thanks / Like